Moto2: Italtrans confirms Nakagami and Simon for 2013

After stints with Mapfre Aspar and Blusens Avintia, former 125cc champion and Moto2 runner up in the inaugural season to Toni Elias, Julian Simon has been confirmed with the Italtrans team for 2013 alongside current rider Takaaki Nakagami, who retains his seat.

He fills Claudio Corti’s spot at the team who is currently being replaced by Toni Elias on a temporary basis after Corti was axed despite meeting his financial obligations for alleged bad bevahiour, telling sportmediaset.it:

I received a letter but it doesn’t explain why, however the team told the media that the reason was due to my behavior off the track. For now, I can not say anything more but I’m going to see what my lawyer says. I’ve other alternatives to finish the season with another team, but at the moment I’m currently under contract with Italtrans, so I can’t say much more, but I have met my financial obligations.”

Simon’s current team Blusens switched from FTR to Suter to try and improve results but the Spaniard has still only one podium placing to his credit in 2012,  a third achieved in Indianapolis, and currently sits 14th in the Championship standings. His move to Italtrans will see him try out Kalex machinery for 2013. He was rumoured to have been offered a CRT ride in MotoGP by the Blusens Avintia team as an incentive to stay for next season.

Nakagami currently stands 15th in the championship, with three top ten finishes and a best of fifth in jerez.

Leave a Reply

