Moto2: Kent confirmed at Tech3

Danny Kent has long been in the frame to move up to Moto2, the rumour first being put out there by MCN around Misano GP time, his move from the Red Bull FTM Ajo Moto3 team to the French Tech3 team in Moto2 is now official. He Joins Frenchman Louis Rossi in the Moto2 squad, but the team remains a very Anglo-French affair as the MotoGP squad cosists of fellow Brits Cal Crutchlow and Bradley Smith. 18 year old Kent has signed a two year deal and looks forward to learning the new class on a bike he feels is better suited to his physique:

“I am delighted to be joining the Tech 3 Racing Moto2 Team for 2013 and this is a great opportunity for me to take my career to the next level. I am under no illusions how difficult racing in the Moto2 class is going to be, but I can’t think of a better team to join than Tech 3 Racing to help me learn. Herve Poncharal is somebody I have a lot of respect for and the team is very professional and I had no hesitation in agreeing to sign when I knew how much they wanted me. I feel ready to make this step because my physical size is not ideal for the Moto3 class, and I can’t wait to start learning and understanding the Mistral 610 machine, the bike has been close to the podium this season, which gives me a lot of confidence in its potential. I want to finish my time in Moto3 with some strong results in the last four races before putting all my focus and energy into preparing for this new adventure with the Tech 3 Racing Team.”

Tech3 Team manager Herve Poncheral admitted to having his eye on the young Brit for a while and feels he has a strong team for the 2013 season:

“Danny is a rider I have admired for a long time and right from the moment we started considering our Moto2 plans for 2013, he was right at the top of the list of candidates. I have no doubt he is a rider with a very big future and I am really looking forward to working with Danny and helping him adapt to the very competitive Moto2 category. He has demonstrated numerous times this season his potential with some outstanding performances in the new Moto3 class, including at the last race in Aragon when he was leading and fighting for the podium for the whole race. With Danny and Louis we have shown our commitment to developing young talent and I am convinced we have put together the strongest line-up possible and 2013 will be a successful one for Tech 3 Racing.”

Before Japan’s grand prix Danny Kent is currently eighth overall in the championship with a best result of third achieved in Assen. His current team mate Sandro Cortese currently leads the Moto3 standings.

 

Leave a Reply

