Moto2: Tom Luthi makes surprise return in Texas

Tom Luthi

Luthi riding for Interwetten in 2011
Image by T.Tanabe used under the creative commons agreement via Flickr

Interwetten rider Tom Luthi has announced a shock comeback a whole round earlier than his projected return at Jerez in May. The Swiss star has flown out to Austin ready to ride at the inaugural Moto2 race around the Circuit of the Americas.

Luthi suffered damage to his elbow, arm, ligaments and collarbone in a crash with Ratthapark Wilairot at the Valencia test in February and was not at the season opener in Losail. His replacement Sergio Gadea finished 20th.

More on the injuries can be found in this post.

Just weeks ago he was struggling to do day-to-day basics like eat as he was having trouble moving his arm and hand. He has cut his recovery from an estimated three months to just 64 days.

Tom Luthi stated: “I put all my energy and willpower into working towards an early comeback and I am happy about my speedy recovery. I still lack power in my right arm, but nevertheless I’m sure that I’m ready to go out and race. I definitely want to take part in the free practice sessions on Friday. If I can confirm my hopes and ride without great difficulties, I will also start in the race on Sunday, trying to get the best possible result!”

Team Manager Daniel Epp added: “I was surprised about Tom’s decision to fly to Texas on Tuesday and to return to racing so soon, at the second Grand Prix of this season. But he made remarkable progress in his rehabilitation program, especially over the last days, so I can fully understand his decision to return now instead of the first European race at Jerez. We are all convinced of Tom’s ability to score a good result at Austin and he has our full support with this brave decision!”

It has not yet been announced if Sergio Gadea or another replacement rider will be flown out to race if Luthi cannot compete as planned.

Leave a Reply

