Image of the GP, Assen: Lorenzo Returns (plus quotes!)

Okay, so he’s not the winner but Yamaha rider Jorge Lorenzo showed this weekend at the Dutch Grand Prix what being a racer means to him and how much he values his team and fans by returning to race after being operated on for the broken collarbone he sustained in practice.

Clearly both physically and mentally drained after his heroics when he raced, not just rode to fifth saying   “This fifth position is better than any victory I have had in my career. I hope to have a good recovery for Germany; I will not be 100% but I hope to be better than here.”

 

Lorenzo returns

Lorenzo exhausted after the race, where he finished a hard earned fifth
image via Lorenzo’s official Twitter account @lorenzo99

The reigning title holder even tooknthe time to congratulate team-mate and race winner Valentino Rossi adding “I am happy for Valentino. More than two years without winning has been hard for him, so I’m happy for my garage partner.”

It was however his reaction to being called a ‘hero’ for his achievements which lead to the best Lorenzo quote of the day :

“No, heroes are those who work hard just to reach the end of each month. I get paid to do these things.”

 

 

Leave a Reply

