Moto2 and Moto3 Sachsenring round up: Rins wins and a maiden victory for Torres

Torres wins at the Sachsenring 2013

I Won!! Torres celebrates his German GP win at the Sachsenring
Image via press

As usual for more visit my full support class round up at or for more detailed Moto3 and Moto2 reports visit

Moto3 kicked off the proceedings with a tense battle between the championships top three point scorers. Estrella Galicia rider Alex Rins was wise to Red Bull KTM’s Luis Salom as he once again employed his wait to pounce tactic, passing both Rins and fellow Spaniard Maverick Vinales before Rins snatched back the victory on the final lap.

Salom only just held off Vinales for second, with the Team Calvo rider visibly frustrated at missing out on the top spot on the podium once again. Both riders maintain their perfect poduim records for the season with Salom retaining his lead in the championship and stretching it to 14 points over Vinales.

The Mahindra riders spent much of the race distance battling each other with Miguel Olivera taking fourth and Efren Vazquez sixth. They were separated by Estrella Galicia rider Alex Marquez who was caught by the duelling team-mates. Marquez has now had five top five finishes in a row.

Jack Miller was once again the top Honda on race day keeping up with the KTM bikes in the early stages but eventually fading to seventh. Jonas Folger struggled at home and finished down in eighth for Mapfre Aspar.


Moto2 in contrast was a departure from the usual suspects in the championship, with leader Scott Redding down in seventh in an exercise in damage limitation ahead of the intermediate classes summer break.

The win went to Jordi Torres, his first Grand Prix victory, his move past early leader Pol Espargaro stuck and he eased away to a convincing win for the Mapre Aspar team.

He was joined on the podium by Simone Corsi in second the NGM Mobile rider also passing the Pons rider in the latter stages, with the Tuenti HP 40 title challenger settling for third and once again complaining of tyre issues post-race.

Fourth went to Italtrans rider Julian Simon, who stuck with the frontrunners for much of the race distance in a resurgent return to form.

Fifth was won by Tom Luthi for Interwetten Paddock rider after battling for position with Alex De Angelis who settled for sixth.

Redding took seventh for Marc VDS leaving him 23 points ahead in the championship.

Ant West took eighth after slicing through the field for QMMF, ahead of pole man Xavier Simeon, who injured himself in warm up.

Tenth place went to Technomag carXpert rider Dominique Aegerter in his 24th consecutive points finish in Moto2.


Sachsenring Moto3 Top 15:

1. Alex Rins SPA Estrella Galicia 0,0 (KTM) 39m 34.735
2. Luis Salom SPA Red Bull KTM Ajo (KTM) 39m 34.967
3. Maverick Viñales SPA Team Calvo (KTM) 39m 34.983
4. Miguel Oliveira POR Mahindra Racing (Mahindra) 39m 39.717
5. Alex Marquez SPA Estrella Galicia 0,0 (KTM) 39m 39.936
6. Efren Vazquez SPA Mahindra Racing (Mahindra) 39m 40.191
7. Jack Miller AUS Caretta Technology – RTG (FTR Honda) 39m 45.394
8. Jonas Folger GER Mapfre Aspar Team Moto3 (Kalex KTM) 39m 50.328
9. Brad Binder RSA Ambrogio Racing (Suter Honda) 39m 53.141
10. Arthur Sissis AUS Red Bull KTM Ajo (KTM) 39m 53.182
11. Jakub Kornfeil CZE Redox RW Racing GP (Kalex KTM) 39m 53.297
12. Isaac Viñales SPA Ongetta-Centro Seta (FTR Honda) 39m 54.828
13. Romano Fenati ITA San Carlo Team Italia (FTR Honda) 39m 54.886s
14. Jasper Iwema NED RW Racing GP (Kalex KTM) 39m 55.381
15. Niccolò Antonelli ITA GO&FUN Gresini Moto3 (FTR Honda) 39m 57.532

Sachsenring Moto2 Top 15:

1. Jordi Torres SPA Aspar Team Moto2 (Suter) 41m 19.636
2. Simone Corsi ITA NGM Mobile Racing (Speed Up) 41m 21.800
3. Pol Espargaro SPA Tuenti HP 40 (Kalex) 41m 22.130
4. Julian Simon SPA Italtrans Racing Team (Kalex) 41m 25.045
5. Alex De Angelis RSM NGM Mobile Forward Racing (Speed Up) 41m 27.182
6. Thomas Luthi SWI Interwetten Paddock Moto2 Rac (Suter) 41m 27.463
7. Scott Redding GBR Marc VDS Racing Team (Kalex) 41m 30.877
8. Anthony West AUS QMMF Racing Team (Speed Up) 41m 32.404
9. Xavier Simeon BEL Desguaces La Torre Maptaq (Kalex) 41m 32.446
10. Dominique Aegerter SWI Technomag carXpert (Suter) 41m 32.755
11. Takaaki Nakagami JPN Italtrans Racing Team (Kalex) 41m 32.921
12. Johann Zarco FRA Came Iodaracing Project (Suter) 41m 33.169
13. Mika Kallio FIN Marc VDS Racing Team (Kalex) 41m 36.111
14. Esteve Rabat SPA Tuenti HP 40 (Kalex) 41m 45.187
15. Sandro Cortese GER Dynavolt Intact GP (Kalex) 41m 50.527


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s